silkywhisky

Springbank 21 Years Old

2.04× brand premium 21yo rating 4.5/5 · n=15
cheapest
€649.00
whiskylodge
intrinsic
€317.66
N
1

Is it worth the price?

Springbank 21 Years Old is a Campbeltown single malt Scotch from the Springbank distillery, bottled at 21 years old. Tasters score it 4.5 out of 5 across 15 reviews. A single retailer lists it at €649.00, against a model fair price of around €317.66. That is 2.04× the model estimate — well above what its age, strength and house predict, a substantial brand premium. The estimate is fitted on age, bottling strength and the distillery's other prices; community ratings add no measurable signal to it, so this is not a quality judgement. Typical error is around ±65%, so read the verdict as indicative and trust it most at the extremes. Of the 6 Springbank bottlings priced here, this is the weakest value.

Retailers tracked

Retailer Price
whiskylodge €649.00

How we got this number

The valuation model predicts a price from this bottling's inputs. The multiple is the actual market price divided by that prediction.

Inputs
Rating
4.47 / 5
Age
21yo
Region
Campbeltown
Distillery tier
Mid Label only — set from the distillery’s median price, not used by the model.
Result
Predicted price
€317.66
Actual price (median)
€649.00
Multiple
2.04×
Verdict band
brand premium (2.00× < … ≤ 4.00×)

See the regression's coefficients →

Methodology estimate

The deterministic model from methodology.md: production cost per litre × bottle size, plus maturation cost per year, plus a cask premium, times an ABV factor — then multiplied by a quality grade summed across six 0–3 axes.

Cost floor
Production (€0.25/cl × 70 cl)
€17.50
Maturation (21 × €1.20/year)
€54.72
Cask premium (undeclared)
+€0.00
× ABV factor
×1.00
Cost floor
€72.22
Quality grade (six 0–3 axes)
  • Process distinctness
    partial estate barley / floor malting on site; 2.5x distillation (paper); on-site floor malting (paper); dunnage warehousing; own malting/bottling integration; mothballed 1979-1989
    3 / 3
  • Cask provenance
    cask type not declared on bottle; partial single-estate malt
    0 / 3
  • Bottling integrity
    ABV not declared; chill-filtration not disclosed; E150a caramel colouring not disclosed
    0 / 3
  • Ownership
    J&A Mitchell (Mitchell family) — family multigenerational
    3 / 3
  • Heritage
    founded 1828 (198 years of operation); mothballed 1979-1989
    2 / 3
  • Reputation
    4.47/5 across 15 reviews
    1 / 3
Quality score
9 / 18
Quality multiplier
×1.75
Intrinsic and multiple
Intrinsic value
€126.38
Actual price (median)
€649.00
Multiple
5.14×
Verdict band
luxury premium

Maturation context

Campbeltown · rolling 12 months: 1,849 mm at Dippen (19 km). Scotland W rolling 12-month rainfall2,451 mm, +33.70% vs 1995-2024 median.

Other bottlings from Springbank